need a little help?

 

 - Connecting

 

 - Sharing

 

 - Camera

 

 - Saving

 

 - Unsharing

 

 - Cleaning Up

 

 - what's new in wevew 2

 

 

how do I connect?

you need two iPhones or iPads or a combination to connect and share photos. after installing the app and enabling Location Services and Photos Access permissions, hold the phones together. by default, you'll need to be less than a foot away. 

 

when the connection is made, both phones will flash and make a chirping sound to confirm. you will also see a new status button appear on the top right side of the screen. the chirp and flash happens only the first time the phones discover each other. after that, they will reconnect automatically without being close to each other.

 

you can change how close you need to be for first connectsions within settings. you can select Close (within 1 to 3 feet), Nearby (less than 15 feet), or Immediate (less than a foot) which is the default.

 

you can also turn off chirping, flashing, or both. now in version 2, you can choose to chirp every time your phone's connect and not just the first time. 

 

why do the phones disconnect?

 

when someone disconnects, their status button turns gray. the way the network works, the session only stays active when the apps are running. when you switch away to another app or the iPhone home screen, wevew will disconnect from the network. when you return to wevew, it immediately reconnects.

 

transfers in progress will end when you disconnect, but they restart immediately upon reconnect. any photos shared while you were away will transferred at this point.

 

 

i can't connect. what do I do?

 

are you close enough to another phone running wevew? put the phones right next to each other to be sure.

 

is one of the phones running the original version of wevew? you can check the version in the Settings app under wevew. If you have a mix of version 1 and version 2 apps, they will not connect. Go to appstore.com/wevew and make sure all devices are running the latest. 

 

if you still don't connect, switch away from the app on both phones for a second then reopen the app on both. 

 

there are some rare situations where the iPhones need to be restarted for the connection to be made successfully.

 

 

 

connections seem slow

 

normally, any phone taken with your iPhone camera should transfer in 2 to 3 seconds.

 

if the transfer is slow or appears to hang, check that WiFi is turned on. you don't need to be connected to a WiFi network for the app to use the phones' WiFi antenna. 

 

the app can use straight Bluetooth for networking and communications, but it is much slower than WiFi. a Bluetooth-only transfer can take 30 seconds per photo. 

 

 

i'm connected to a WiFi network and it's still really slow

 

this happens. sometimes the WiFi network is very busy or it introduces several hops between you and the other iPhones. on the bright side a shared WiFi network lets you send photos with folks in different rooms. 

 

open the iOS Control Center by swiping up from the bottom of the screen and enable Airplane mode. wait about 5 seconds and then disable Airplane mode. that resets the networking on your device.

 

last, attempt, try to "Forget this network" on one of the phone to force the iPhones to create their own ad hoc network.

 

 

 

sharing

 

when you choose a photo to share it is sent immediately to all other connected devices. if someone joins after you will automatically send the photo to them as well. as the photo came from your phone, you own it and continue to control it's future. You can unshare the photo and remove it from the connected phones.

 

If you choose, you can send your photos without giving the receivers the option to save.  go to the Settings tool and under wevew, turn off "Allow Save."

 

 

camera

 

when you take a picture with the camera you'll get a button that says Use Photo. when you touch this the photo is sent to all of your connected friends. 

 

 

 

 

saving

 

when you receive a photo, you usually have the option to save it. press the "save" button or press and hold the photo in the collection and choose the "save" menu. the photo is saved to your camera roll.

 

In wevew 2, you can also press and hold the "save" button and all of the photos will be saved at once.

 

if you choose, you can send your photos without giving the receivers the option to save.  go to the Settings tool and under wevew, turn off "Allow Save."

 

 

unsharing and deleting

 

unshare will remove your photo from all connected devices. delete will remove a photo that you received from your device. do this by touching the (x) button in the toolbar. it is the same button for unshare vs. delete.

 

note that if you allow someone to save your photos and they save a photo, unshare will remove it from the shared network, but it will not remove it from their Camera Roll.

 

in wevew 2 when you press and hold the "unshare" button, you'll be prompted to unshare all of your photos.

 

delete removes a photo from your phone. in case someone sent you something you don't want to see, you can delete it locally. the owner of the picture can try to send it to you again, but you won't get it.

 

 

cleaning up

 

photos are meant to be live in the sharing session. if the device which originated a photo has left the network for more than 5 minutes, your app will remove it with a message "cleaning up old photos." this is normal. when the photo's owner reconnects, their app will re-share the photo.

 

 

 

what's new in wevew 2

 

wevew 2 is a significant upgrade over wevew 1--so much so that the two apps are not allowed to connect. if you are having problems connecting across devices, this is one of the first things to check. you can see what version you are running by looking in the wevew Settings tool on your iPhone or iPad.

 

  • the UI has been redesigned and reorganized. you can now page back and forth through all of the shared photos. doing so allowed us to move the collection of photos to the top of the screen where you can see them better. it also allowed us to move the button bar to the bottom of the screen so it is right under your fingers.

  • the UI now adds press and hold features to most of the buttons.

  • the idea of remembering your connections has been redesigned so that you never forget a device that you've met. this is great for sharing with those people who you always share photos with. no need to hold the phones together each our. in support of this change, the app now allows you to "forget"devices. when you press and hold the colored status button representing a device, you will be prompted "do you want to forget this device." Touch yes and this device is off your list. next time you want to share, you must re-authenticate by holding the phones closely. if you want to start over entirely, touch and hold the connection button (looks like a 0/1 power button). you'll be prompted to forget all devices.

  • the algorythm for mirroring your photos has been improved to account for the variety of different device sizes out there. this also solves one of the original problems of mirroring the photo when one person held their device in portrait while the other person help their device in landscape.

  • touch and hold the unshare button to immediately unshare all of your photos.

  • touch and hold the save button to immediately save all of the shared photos.